Close up – Final Image

To start the process of looking at capturing the final images I came across different categories of the process which made each individual images; different documentation produced giving me the ability to capture the final images such as:

  • Call sheet
  • Location Recce
  • Location Release Form
  • Primary Research
  • Secondary Research
  • Capturing the Image
  • Editing the Image
  • Reflection and Evaluation

As a result of using the different documentation to the project would make the final images easier to reflect and evaluate at the end of the project.

The approach to the Pre-production planning gave me as the photographer the idea of the location before capturing the image as well as understanding the location and the images I will be capturing.Ā  I started the process off by looking at the location before the proper shoot to collect information about the location itself and the shot I wish to capture. The Location Formby Pinewoods, the same location of Image five the smoke bomb, gave me an idea of the different techniques and camera settings I will be applying to the final images.

A call sheet was created On Friday 16th March to explain to the peers and mentors that I will be absent from Runshaw College to capture my images for the final product. Even though the Image I wished to capture was out of college hours, A call sheet is supplied to show the date, time and location I will attend. The call sheet explains me as a student where I will be at certain times with contact details. Due to security the mobile number and email has been removed. Also included in the Call sheet is the time and props which will be used to capture the final images. This is for security for myself and the peers around me.

Call Sheet Image Six

As well as producing a call sheet for the pre production planning another security process I have to take into consideration is the Location recce and the location release form. Using the two documents I created after capturing the practice shots in the image gives me as the photographer the ease of the risks which may occur when capturing the image as well as the basic information on the location itself.

The location recce, gives me as a student and my teachers and peers to access information about my images such as the site contact numbers and any address which may be useful. The minimal yet important information is important to the project as it gives information for me for future projects.

Location Recce Day Six

Included in the location Recce is a basic risk assessment on the location. Any hazards I came across when previously looking at the location was imported onto the location Recce and risk assessment making an easy access to access the images in an emergency

As I am currently still in college education, I must have the right equipment to allow me as a student the access to leave college without a peer or mentor. As this a project, this allows me as the student to complete the final project at a different location. As a result of me leaving the college premises, I needed a sign off sheet signed from teachers to allow me to leave college. Inserted below is a location release form allowing me as the student to leave the college premises. Even though, like mentioned above, the image captured was out of college hours, the release form is still necessary to allow me access to capture the images.

Release Form

A brief overview of the release form, explains that I, the student, is allowed to leave the college premises to complete my Final Project. My peer hasĀ given me access to leave college to visit one of my locations at Formby Pine Woods. The location release form explains where I will be at a certain date and where my property has come from, as shown it is at Runshaw College ā€“ my main education. If looking into the Location release form in more depth, You can see little details such as granting authority of myself to explore the site and take photos for the Final Major Project.

Another form of Pre-Production planning is the form which allows me as the photographer to capture images of the model. The model release form explains that the model gives permission for me to capture images of the model and publish the final images on social media and a hard copy. The model release form produced below is signed by the model to release the model on the day of shooting.

Model Release Form

When capturing the final image due to the amount of natural lighting at the location, I took into consideration of the exposure triangle to match the final images.Ā The exposure triangle allowed me to connect the ISO, Shutter Speed and the Aperture to connect the exposure to the final images. When having a high aperture at the location – high light at the location – it gave the camera great difficulty to connect the three points of the triangle together and producing an image I wished to capture. Included in the image is the mise-en-sceneĀ in the background of the final image, this includes the pine leaves in the back of the final image. The mise-en-scene in the image tells the story of the final image. The close up of the model and the background will attract together with the theme of colour when enhanced.

Due to the high aperture in the triangle, it made the shutter speed of the camera slower when capturing the images. A slow shutter speed when capturing the final image will affect the other sides of the triangle; due to the high aperture this effected the ISO in the final image making the image look ‘grainy’; this was easily fixed by changing the apertureĀ in the camera to make the shutter speed quick and make the final image look less ‘grainy’. The sharpness of the image will be adapted and annotated in Adobe Lightroom.

Taking images due to the problem of A slow shutter speed made the images look ‘Grainy’ after taking over six final images to analyse the correct image to edit and produce in the project, problems I came across such as zooming in on images to show the focus point of the final images; as shown in the final images below the individual images I captured had individual problems which was easily fixed.

As a brief overview on the final images , the images shown in the thumbnails above, are not focused, which makes the final images look unprofessional before editing the final images. The images above has no filter just bright natural lighting, which effected the Exposure triangle due to the change of lighting. The image I imagined to capture including techniques focusing on ‘golden hour‘ lighting and techniques produced from Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Photoshop, which would be contrasted on the models close up image. This would make the final image look effective.

After looking into the final captured images in detail, I found mistakes I didn’t find when capturing the practice images or the final images. After finalizing the images produced mistakes found include:

  • Miss placed leaves/ petals.
  • Shadowing on the model
  • Blurring due to the Exposure.

To edit the final images, I enlarged the final imaging to focus on the details; due to the small annotations in the final image, I used the blurring tool which made the background of the image blurred to the focus on the image. This was shown in my techniques I learnt and YouTube videos which aided me in learning techniques for both Adobe LightroomĀ and Adobe Photoshop.

As shown in the image below the before and after image has had a large amount of annotations to the final image. The main edit to the final image is the zooming on the final image. As shown the image has been zoomed to focus on a certain leaves, focusing on the exposure triangleĀ and the colouring of the image. The zooming taken from Adobe PhotoshopĀ  tutorials from YouTube was applied to the final imaging which effected the image when using Adobe Lightroom to enhance the colouring on the image. As minimal editing was enhanced when using Adobe Lightroom of the colouring, the exposure and the contrast was applied high to enhance the fakeĀ Golden hourĀ look in the image as well as using the colours to contrast.

As the main focus on the image is the close up of the model, as well as the background of the leaving, the secondary colour of green was enhanced to main the focus on the final image. The fake golden tones used from the golden hour, enhanced from Adobe Lightroom, making the final image connect without the focus of the image.

After finding inspirational artists similar to the images I wanted to capture, It made the final images easier to focus on. The background information of the theme of colouring and the secondary research of golden hour was examined into detail to understand the information behind the image and the different elements which is enhanced in the research.
Close Up First.JPG
After looking at the captured images, I found the images which would be acceptable for the project. Finding faults in the different images I have captured has effected the image which I wish to produce on the social media account could easily be changed on applications such as Adobe Photoshop.Once the removal of the shadowing on the face of the model,Ā  was removed with the blurring tool and blending tool, I blurred the final image to create the connection of the pole and the image together.Ā The final product was then exported as a JPEG image and placed in an organised folder giving me easy access to discover.
Due to the open location of the capturing of the final images, public members and a large amount of cars made a high noise making the reduction of the final image high. This was easily enhanced to make the final image less grainy and focuses with the removal tool provided by Adobe Lightroom.Focusing on editing the final image, minimal changes was adjusted to the final image, the edit of the image included enhancement on the colouring was adjusted to create more colour to the theme and the removal of the shadows. Using the techniques I learnt from Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Lightroom, I applied this to my presentation.

Once I exported the final image, I exported the final image to Unsplash and on Instagram; giving a wide variety of presentation to show the final images on.

The before and after image is as shown, the image has been enhanced to make the colours in the natural lighting as well as the annotations on the colouring in the poles in the final image.

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close